Poptart Protein Pancakes

20130721-175509.jpg

I grew up on poptarts. I always hated them. If I had to pick a flavor I would be incredibly boring and choose plain old strawberry. There is a huge poptart craze going on in the fitness world right now. People doing #iifym (flexible dieting) are all about them if the numbers fit. And all the clean eaters are making healthy versions of poptarts. I have no desire for a healthy poptart because I never really cared for them in the first place! But what I do like, is pancakes. Hence these “poptart” pancakes! (There was also a pancake challenge going on last week on Instagram which explains the overload of pancake recipes exploding on my blog hahahaha).

Pancake Ingredients:

•1 scoop vanilla protein powder
•1/2 cup oats
•100ml organic unsweetened apple sauce (snack pack size)
•1/3 cup + 1 tbsp almond milk (milk or milk alternative of your choice)
•1 tsp baking powder
•1 tsp vanilla extract
•1 tsp psyllium husk or ground flax
•1 egg
•1 egg white

Directions:

-Mix all together and cook in coconut oil.

Jam Filling Ingredients:

•1 cup frozen fruit-I used strawberries
•Sweetener to taste (optional-I used 4 stevia drops)
•1 tbsp chia seeds

Directions:

-Let thaw and soften in a sauce pan over medium heat.
-Mash when softened and add 4 stevia drops (if you want) and 1 tbsp chia seeds. Mix and set aside.

Frosting Ingredients:

•1 tbsp plain Greek yogurt
•1 tsp melted coconut oil
•2 stevia drops
•Sprinkled with chia seeds for the sprinkles 😊 *

*Makes 8 pancakes

Leave a Reply

