Vegetarian Chickpea Currant Salad

20120921-202429.jpg

I think this salad might be one of my best creations yet. It makes me so proud hahaha! I had a specific taste in mind I was going for and I definitely got what I was looking for! I can for sure make recipes up no problem, but I’m usually going in blind-hoping that whatever I make just tastes good 😉 But this, is bang on what I wanted!! 🙂 A very, tasty, refreshing dish-I hope you like it!

Ingredients:

-Large handful of spinach

For the “salad” itself:

-1 (540 ml or 19 ounce) can of chickpeas/garbanzo beans-drained and rinsed
-1/4 cup dried currants
-1/4 cup carrot slaw
-1/8 cup pumpkin seeds
-1/8 cup goat feta cheese
-1 tbsp diced red onion

For the “Dressing”:

-1/8 cup EVOO
-1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
-1 tbsp organic honey
-1 tsp chia seeds
-1 tsp sesame seeds
-1/2 tsp cinnamon
-1/2 tsp minced garlic
-1/4 tsp ground cumin
-1/4 tsp ground ginger
-1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
-Pinch of sea salt and black pepper

Directions:

-Mix all “salad” ingredients together in a large bowl
-Mix all ” dressing” ingredients in a seperate bowl until mixed well. Pour in with your salad mix. Stir all ingredients together.
-Lay your large handful if spinach down on a plate and top it with your Vegetarian Chickpea Currant Salad!

Leave a Reply

